Celebrating 20 Years

Fighting for Economic Justice. Building a New Economy.


Thank you to everyone who joined New Economy Project at our 20th Anniversary Benefit on May 4th! We were thrilled to celebrate this milestone with more than 200 friends and supporters.  This was our organization’s first-ever benefit, and we are grateful for the strong show of support and enthusiasm.

Missed the event? Click here to support!

View photos from the benefit here.

Errol Louis, NY1 Political anchor and a founding board member of our organization, did a masterful job emceeing the event.

We were proud to honor The Hildegard Fund and The New York Women’s Foundation with Catalyst Awards, for their tremendous support of grassroots and women-led organizing for economic justice. We thank journalist Laura Flanders for helping us present these awards to Leah Hunt-Hendrix and Madeline Lamour Holder.

We were pleased that Jeffrey Toobin, The New Yorker staff writer and CNN senior analyst, joined us to present Pro Bono Leadership Awards to several law firms and other pro bono partners: Debevoise & Plimpton LLP; Herrick, Feinstein LLP; Lawyers Alliance for New York; Morrison & Foerster; New York Lawyers for the Public Interest; and Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP.
Making Change Happen awardees_cropped
We also presented Making Change Happen Awards to seven outstanding New Yorkers: Monique Sykes and Rea Veerabadren, plaintiffs in a groundbreaking class action lawsuit challenging predatory debt collection; and Emmett Pinkston, Ramon Lebron, Shelly Martin, Onieka O’Kieffe, and Alfred Carpenter, members of the NYC coalition that won the strongest law in the country banning employment credit checks.

Finally, we recognized New Economy Project’s founding board members: Eddie Bautista, Hilary Botein, Errol Louis, Sarah Ludwig, Marc Schachter, and April Tyler.

A heartfelt thanks to our generous sponsors, hardworking host committee members, outstanding honorees, and all who contributed to a successful and memorable night!

Thank you for your support!

Join the Movement!